As some of you may already know, if you are an adult over the age of 21 with a valid ID (passport/drivers license), you can now legally purchase and possess cannabis in the state of Massachusetts. It is important to know the entirety of the Massachusetts laws surrounding cannabis prior to if you plan a trip to 253 or another marijuana dispensary.
If you are purchasing recreational cannabis in Massachusetts, you can legally possess up to 1 ounce of cannabis or 5 grams of concentrate at a time. Possessing more than the legal limit (1 oz.) outside your home may be penalized by up to 6 months imprisonment / $500 fine. In contrast, you can keep up to 10 ounces in your home, but it must be locked up to keep kids and pets safe.
Smoking or the use of cannabis in any form on public or federal land is not allowed and can lead up to civil penalties, or even a federal crime. Public land consists of parks, schools, sidewalks, and public transportation, while federal lands include parks, forests, and monuments. It is also worth getting to know the individual cannabis laws set in place by your employers, landlords, cities, and towns. They may have their own policies about the consumption and use of marijuana, so check with them to see what is legal.
In Massachusetts, legal cannabis consumption is now limited to private residences only. As it is only legal to consume cannabis at a private residence, please be sure to get permission from the residence owner if you are not the primary owner. Landlords and hotels may restrict smoking on their premises, so double check your residency rules.
You can grow up to 6 plants in your home, and up to 12 plants for 2 or more adults.
Do not drive or operate heavy machinery while high, as it is illegal to drive under the influence of marijuana. If you are consuming cannabis, do not get behind the wheel. Instead, use public transportation, ride-shares, or catch a ride with a sober friend. Driving with cannabis in your car is similar to the open container laws surrounding alcohol in your car. You cannot have an open container of marijuana in any form in the passenger area of your car while on the road or in a public place. Cannabis must be stored in a closed container in your trunk or in a locked glove compartment. It is also illegal to carry cannabis across state lines, and this includes travelling to states where marijuana is legal. If you are crossing state lines with cannabis, you can be charged with a federal crime.
Sharing cannabis is allowed, but selling it is not. In the State of Massachusetts, you can share or gift up to 1 ounce of cannabis, or 5 grams of cannabis concentrate, with adults aged 21 and over, without any form of compensation. With that said, Selling marijuana to others is illegal and a first time offense (under 50 lbs) may be punishable by up to 2 years imprisonment or a $5,000 fine. Subsequent offenses may be punishable by up to 2.5 years imprisonment or a $10,000 fine.
For more information about the regulations that govern what you can and can’t do, how much you can grow and have, and when and where it’s okay to use, visit the Cannabis Control Commission’s website: mass-cannabis-control.com